CDR Australia Migration

Provisional subclass 491 visa

Skilled work regional provisional subclass 491 visa

Provisional subclass 491 visa allows eligible skilled workers and their dependent family members to live, work and study in designated regional areas of Australia for up to 5 years.

The Provisional subclass 491 visa is a points-based visa for applicants who are sponsored by:

  •  An eligible family member residing in an Australian designated regional area; or
  • An Australian state or territory designated regional area..

Somethings to remember while apply provisional subclass 491 visa:

  • 45 year age maximum.
  • Proficient English at the time of application
  • points tested; and
  • Positives skills evaluation are all requirements
  • The 491 visa has a five-year validity period.

What’s new on provisional subclass 491 visa?

The 491 visa will reveal 504 occupations that are qualified, which is more than 70 the closest non-regional similar visas! This visa subclass will receive a total of 14,000 places.

What are the benefits of the 491 visa?

  • Regional applications will receive priority processing to help meet demand in regional Australia.
  • More points given to visa applicants if migrants stay in regional areas
  •  More points available to the visa applicants

Which parts of Australia are “designated regional areas”?

Except Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Perth, and Melbourne, anywhere in Australia. Newcastle, Wollongong, and the NSW Central Coast will be included in the 491 visa.

Two streams – what are the requirements?

State/Territory sponsored stream

  • State/Territory government nomination is required.
  • State/Territory authorities will have the power to appeal a refusal to award this visa to an offshore applicant.

Family member sponsored stream

  • A family member over the age of 18 who is an Australian citizen, Australian permanent resident, or eligible New Zealand citizen must sponsor you.
  • Typically, the sponsor must be a resident of a particular regional area.
  • The principal applicant’s spouse/de facto partner must be related to the sponsor.
  • A family member is defined as a parent, child or step-child, brother, sister, adoptive brother, adoptive sister, step-brother or step-sister; or an aunt, uncle, adoptive aunt, adoptive uncle, step-aunt to step-uncle; or a nephew, niece, adoptive nephew, adoptive niece, step-nephew or step-niece; or a grandparent; or a first cousin; or an aunt, uncle, adopt
  • A family member is responsible for financially assisting the visa holder, building homes, and enrolling the visa holder in an English language program for two years.

Points Test – how will they be allotted?

491 visa applicants will be able to earn more points. There will be points based on age, qualifications, international and Australian work experience, Australian studies, and English.

The new Points Test is amended to award:

  • 15 points for being nominated by a State or Territory government agency or being sponsored to live and work in regional Australia by a family member who lives there.
  • 10 points for qualifications in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).

Partner points – 10 points

  • Skilled spouse or de facto partner (skills assessment and competent English); or
  • Applicants without a spouse or de facto partner.
  • If your partner speaks English fluently, you’ll get an extra point. Your partner does not need a Skills Assessment if he or she is above 45 years old..

Ranking system to apply for a 491 visa

To apply, applicants must achieve a minimum point score. The following is the order in which invitations will be ranked:

  • First, primary applicants have a skilled spouse or de facto partner.
  • Primary applicants without a spouse or de facto partner come first.
  • Second, primary applicants who have a spouse or de facto partner who can demonstrate fluency in English but lacks the abilities required for skilled partner points (age and skills)
  • Third, primary applicants who have a partner who does not qualify for either proficient English or skilled partner points. If all other points claimed are equivalent, these candidates will be ranked behind all other groups.

Permanent residency?

The 491 is a 5 year visa. Applicants who meet the following qualifications are eligible for permanent residence with the Subclass 191

On a 491 visa, you must have spent at least three years living, working, or studying in the approved regional area.; and

  • show three years of yearly earnings of at least $53,900 Only one of the three years of annual earnings at or above $53,900 is required for people who include a partner in their 491 application. Alternatively, if your partner meets the criteria, they can be the main applicant for the 191 visa.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Scroll to Top